Saturday , June 15 2019
Home / FT Alphaville / FT Opening Quote – Let the star content wars begin

FT Opening Quote – Let the star content wars begin

Summary:
Thursday December 14 will go down in history as the day that the Walt Disney Company wrote a new chapter in the history of a once feared empire, and settled the destiny of one who was taught to wield mysterious power by a wise and wizened old master. But enough of Star Wars, Luke Skywalker and his mentor Yoda, writes Matthew Vincent. In other news, Disney is buying the entertainment assets of the 21st Century Fox empire, and deciding the destiny of James Murdoch, who had run the business for his father: the legendary media mogul Rupert.At around 12 noon GMT/7am EST/4am PST, the long awaited bn deal is due to be premiered in a much-hyped press release and subsequent media call.If the previews are to be believed, the plot will centre around a -a-share price for the Fox entertainment

Topics:
Chris Nuttall considers the following as important: ,

This could be interesting, too:

Alexandra Scaggs writes Thought for the weekend

Sujeet Indap writes Jonathan Knee explains 25 years of Wall Street’s evolution

Paul Murphy writes The Beaufort sting

Thomas Hale writes The green multiplier effect

Thursday December 14 will go down in history as the day that the Walt Disney...

Chris Nuttall
Award-winning journalist with more than 35 years' experience in newspapers, magazines, radio, TV and the internet at local, national and international levels. At the BBC for 17 years and has spent the past 15 with the Financial Times. Served as a foreign correspondent in Sri Lanka, Washington and Turkey as well as in a roving role for the BBC. Turned a late 1980s geeky interest into a professional focus on the internet and technology and was founding World Editor of the BBC News website and the BBC 's first Internet Correspondent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *